Spring Forward for Autism 5K

Today my whole family ran and walked in a 5K for Autism. It was the best turn out. It was so much fun to see active, genuine and competitive people out there running and walking today. My mom (walked), dad (ran), brother (ran) and boyfriend (ran) were all there, along with 10+ family friends! My parent’s good friends son (Steven) was diagnosed with autism and when he asked us to come support him and his team, we couldn’t pass it up! It was such a family oriented and just good-hearted event, I commend everybody to get out there and not only sign up for a race but sign up for a race with a cause!

IMG_0102

(My Dad and I)

Team Steve-O was our name and we did awesome! We had 2 first place medals in the group and Steven raised more than $700 for the cause. At 8:40 a.m. we showed up ready to race and have fun! By 9:00 a.m., we were on our way around UNR’s campus. We all went in thinking we were going to have to run 12 laps around the track to get our 5K in but when we showed up, the great surprise was that the course took us around the shady and pretty campus. We saw goslings, geese, ducks, swans and tons of other animals! It made the run go by so much faster. My dad, brother, family friend (Andrew) and I all ran together for about the first 2 miles, then my brother and Andrew pushed ahead while my dad and I finished the thing together. I did beat my dad by 30 seconds, so I still have that on him! My boyfriend just kicked everybody’s butt so I don’t want to mention him much 🙂 I had such a blast, got a good run in and got some sun! Everybody there had such a good time, I couldn’t imagine a better Sunday.

IMG_0101

(My Brother and Andrew)

Please follow me on Pinterest and Twitter for more recipes and workouts to check out and maybe even try out!

Leave a Reply

