Spinach-Ricotta Chicken Parmigiana

This dish is absolutely one of the best things you will ever eat, and the name rhymes! I don’t know how I ever ate chicken parmigiana before this recipe. I’ve made spinach-ricotta stuffed chicken before, and I’ve made chicken parmigiana, but I’ve never thought about joining the two recipes! It’s a little difficult to make but it’s worth it. Total time took me about 45-50 minutes, but hopefully my mistakes will help you out!

Ingredients:

IMG_2657

6-8 thin chicken cutlets

1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese (total of 4 tbsp.)

6 tbsp. ricotta cheese

1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs

6 oz. frozen spinach (thawed and drained)

Mozzarella cheese (I used Precious)

Salt and Pepper to taste

3 tbsp. egg whites

Marinara sauce (15 oz. Buitoni was plenty)

Directions:

-Mix 1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs and 2 tbsp. Parmesan cheese together.

IMG_2658

-Put 2 tbsp. egg whites in a bowl.

-In a medium container, mix 1 tbsp. egg whites, 6 oz. spinach (squeezed dry), 6 tbsp. ricotta cheese, 2 tbsp. Parmesan cheese and grate about 2 tbsp. of mozzarella cheese. Mix thoroughly.

-Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

-Rinse chicken and season with salt and pepper.

-Lay chicken on flat surface, spread a layer of the spinach-ricotta mix on the chicken, roll the chicken loosely with the ends on the bottom.

-Dip chicken roll in egg whites then in the bread crumbs. Make sure bread crumbs are evenly spread on the chicken roll. Place chicken on a baking dish (with the ends down). Repeat.

-Bake for 25 minutes at 450 degrees.

-Remove chicken from oven, spread marinara sauce on top, slice a piece of mozzarella and place on top of each chicken roll.

-Bake for about 3-4 minutes or until cheese is melted.

IMG_2660

I served my spinach-ricotta chicken parmigiana with a simple salad and ciabatta bread. It is very rich so don’t make too many side dishes. And I just cooked this tonight so I’m not sure how the leftovers will turn out, I’m thinking they might be better than it fresh out of the oven! Please try it out and let me know if you have any suggestions or improvements! Follow me on Twitter and Pinterest for more recipes and workouts!

IMG_2662

2 responses to “Spinach-Ricotta Chicken Parmigiana

Leave a Reply

